Home > Pre-Japan > In the beginning…

In the beginning…

Starting blogs is always weird. Should I introduce myself? Should I dive right in? Should I try to convince you why you should spend (waste) your time reading this instead of, oh, I don’t know, enjoying the beautiful day outside? (It’s snowing you say? Well then welcome!)

Well, I’ll introduce myself quickly and tell you all about why I started the blog, how about that? I’ll even do it in convenient bullet point format so that it’s easy to read and skip at your pleasure.

  • Name: Dashiell Slootbeek
  • Age: 22 (As of June 7, 2009 anyway)
  • Education: BA from Beloit College in Political Science and East Asian Languages and Cultures (Japanese for short)
  • Location: This being the creepy world wide web all you need to know is that until August 1st I reside somewhere in these great United States of America. (Of course anyone a little web-savvy I’m sure can find out by like… googling my name or something. I just don’t want to give it up so easy…) After August 1st I’ll be in Nakatsu-shi, Oita Ken, on the island of Kyushu in Japan
  • Reason for blog: As you may have ascertained from the blog name, (witty, isn’t it? I thought so) this will be my personal blog about my year (or more) as an ALT in the JET program, teaching English in Japan. There will be pictures, experiences, random thoughts, and more likely than not weird things only I find interesting.

Now I’ve started a copious amount of blogs in my day, and none of those have lasted more than a few weeks, so I won’t promise that this will be any different. I’ll do my best though, because I’ve always wanted to keep a log of what I’m doing, what I’m thinking, where I’m going, etc.

Anyway, I’ll call it quits for now. August 1 is fewer than two months away, so I am certain I will be updating with what is happening in the weeks before I leave. For example, here’s a sneak peak: I have to get a new passport, a new drivers license, there is a JET orientation coming up next Saturday, and I will be receiving more information about where and whom I will be teaching.

ciao for now

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

