Home > Pre-Japan > Two posts in two days? Whaaa?

Two posts in two days? Whaaa?

I know! Don’t count on this being a trend, but I wrote so much last night and had so much left over to discuss, how could I leave you all (my loyal, loyal reader base) hanging for another few days?

Here are a few things right off the bat:

Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson

Ed McMahon

Ed McMahon

Farrah Fawcett

Farrah Fawcett

  • Ever notice how bad things often come in threes? Ed McMahon, legendary TV personality, died on Tuesday. Farrah Fawcett, actress and 1970s hottie, died on Thursday. And on that same day, Michael Jackson, the legendary “King of Pop” died. So all those celebrities hanging on to their last threads of life can rest easy, the three have been chosen. You have at least a few more months to live. RIP.
  • To further illustrate how important celebrities are in America, I offer up this article from http://www.thedailybeast.com entitled: “How Jacko helps the Mullahs.” Perhaps it’s more a commentary on the media in the U.S., but I can’t help but think that this is, at least partly, a correct assessment. Here’s a quick quote from the article:

“The jokes popped up almost immediately that Mark Sanford was the luckiest guy on earth after word broke that Michael Jackson had suffered a heart attack. But the notion that Jackson’s death, which preempted virtually all other news coverage on the cable networks last night, is sucking up media attention from other matters carries a dark edge to it as well. National-security experts are warning that without sustained attention on Iran, its repressive tactics could grow more deadly in the coming days.

The Jackson story, paired with Farrah Fawcett’s death and Sanford’s own scandal, “without a doubt” poses a danger in Iran, according to Michael Rubin, an American Enterprise Institute scholar and former Bush administration official.”

http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2009-06-26/will-michael-jackson-doom-iran/

  • So in light of these developments, I’ll do my part to bring our attentions back to where they truly should be, no matter how sad the passing of some of America’s great artists: Iran. This is probably as political as I’ll get in the blog, because that’s not what this is about. I do think it’s important that we not lose sight of what is happening in Iran. The outcome there could very well determine a large part of America’s foreign policy for the forseeable future, and that’s something to look out for.
Himeji Castle

Himeji Castle

Alright, enough with the depressing deaths and world politics. I went to dinner with my grandparents and friends of theirs from Japan, the Sakurai’s last night. I met Mrs. Sakurai first when I went to Japan in the fall of 2006. She was incredibly nice to me, and took me all around Kobe (where they live for 6 months out of the year) and Himeji castle. Tonight I met her husband, Atsushi. He does not speak a ton of English, so most of the time we conversed in Japanese, which was nice but also just a little intimidating. I hadn’t used my Japanese in quite some time. One of the first things he said to me was that, when I come to the Kansai region on vacation while I am in Japan, I have to come stay at their house in Kobe. If there were any doubt to the kindness of Japanese people, I have yet to witness it.

Kobe Beef

Kobe Beef

We then discussed Kyushu, the southern most island in Japan where I will be teaching starting August 1. Apparently they had lived in Fukuoka, one of the major cities on the island, for two years in the past, and really enjoyed it. “Kyushu women,” he remarked (in Japanese) “are wonderful. They are very kind, very obedient, very pretty. Best in the world!” Kind?! Pretty?! Obedient?! How can you go wrong?! My grandmother then mentioned I could stay in Japan for up to five years teaching English, “plenty of time to find a girlfriend!” she added. (This seems to be her dream for me: find a nice Japanese girl and marry her.) “Ahh,” Mr. Sakurai exclaimed, in English this time. “Very nice! When you married in Japan to kyushu girl, I come!” This was followed by much nodding and laughing. “Japanese wedding very good!”

There you have it, folks. When I return to America, I will be betrothed to a kind, obedient, pretty Japanese girl. Mark your calendars, wedding invitations will be sent out in the coming weeks.

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Elise
    June 28, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    oh god.

  2. Dash
    June 28, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    yeah I thought you’d like that…haha

  3. Kevin Tambornino
    July 8, 2009 at 3:31 am

    You know, you are coming here to replace me, and in the time I was here I met a nice, kind, pretty, Kyushu girl (though not very obedient) and got married. Don’t rule it out 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

