Home > Pre-Japan > Happy July!

Happy July!

Happy July everyone!

Yippeee!

Yippeee!

Can you believe we’re almost halfway through 2009?! I’ve already been graduated from college for a whole year! Now there’s a scary thought. I’ve been thinking recently about this past year. In many ways, it has been a wasted year. Originally, when I was still with my girlfriend, (ex now) the plan had been to apply to do research in Japan through the Monbusho (Ministry of Education), which has a scholarship set up for such things. I made it to the interview stage (something I’m quite proud of, because it means my proposal was actually good enough to go up against the likes of people in grad school, and people working in the fields they proposed their proposals in), and my ex’s proposal was no accepted. I wasn’t finally chosen, but already the plan was disrupted. We broke up later in the year last year (for unrelated reasons.)

What I should have done is applied to the JET program while I was still in school as a few of my friends did. They transitioned directly into the JET program from college. I had an extra year to figure out what to do. Having said that, I’ll redact my previous statement that it in fact was a wasted year. Here are a few things I did after I was out of college.

  • Get my TEFL certificate from the Boston Language Institute, learning the basics of how to teach English as a Foreign Language, as well as cement in my mind the fact that I really enjoy teaching.
  • Figure out what really interests me, and possibly figure out what I want to do in the future (Linguistics, more specifically, dialectology)
  • Spend a month (from January 15 -February 15)Β  in San Diego with my grandparents, whom I do not get to see very often.
  • Teach two classes at the Boston Language Institute, one a High Beginner class, the other a High Intermediate class.
  • Spend three months helping out at the Watertown Middle School ESL department, getting to know some wonderful teachers, and a whole mess of wonderful kids, all the while learning how to teach in a public school environment.
  • Get reconnected with my friends in Brookline, whom I had not seen much of the past four years

To me, that sounds like a pretty good resume for a “wasted” year.

I’m off to Benecia, CA tonight to go see two friends from Beloit for the weekend before flying back to Boston on the red-eye Sunday. I’m sure I’ll have lots of pictures to share once I get back, so don’t change that dial! Or don’t tab out of that browser!

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Elise
    July 8, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    4th of July is my favorite holiday! what’s yours?!

  2. Winnie
    July 9, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I love reconnected with u this summer, but ur most likly sick of seeing us at this point πŸ˜› its funny cause we’ve seen each other so much only for u to pick up and leave us again … like a bad date (thinking about ‘his just not that into you’ πŸ˜€ btw time is never wasted ur just growing at ur own pace!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

