Home > Pre-Japan > A weekend of Gayity and Merriment

A weekend of Gayity and Merriment

I spent the past weekend in Cotuit, Massachusetts with some friends. Cotuit is located on Cape Cod, a wonderful place to visit. Here follow my accounts of this weekend.

On Thursday, we spent most of our time actually driving to the house. Reminder: Do not drive to Cape Cod during the summer on a Thursday at 3 o’clock-ish. The traffic was so bad, the HOV lane (High Occupancy Vehicle, otherwise known as the carpool lane) was stop and go. We got to the house around 5:30 or 6 P.M., a nearly three hour drive which normally takes an hour and a half. I don’t remember much from this night, I was pretty pooped after driving. I think we ate some soup with lo bak (spelling Winnie?!) Or maybe we had Spaghetti with Chicken Marsala. It’s not super important.

Let’s move on to Friday, since my memory is failing me about anything else we did Thursday. So clearly, it must not be that important. (Ha! Famous last words.) We spent Friday checking out Hyannis looking for a fish market. You’d think that there would be a fish market by the water, right? I mean…there were fishing boats. There were fishing people. Alas, there were no fish markets near the water. There was one located like five miles to the west though. Away from the water, and away from the town. Hmm. Well, who am I to criticize the placement of a fish market? I am no expert. We had lunch at a place called “Spanky’s Clam Shack”

From The Cape, July 2009

The rest of the day was uneventful.

On Saturday we decided to go for a little hike at Nickerson State Park. That was a lot of fun, and I was able to get some nice pictures from that trip.




As always there are more pictures on my Picasa webpage, here

That evening, much tequila was drunk, and very little was remembered, though I do faintly recall something about my hair and some elastic bands…also, I remember that apparently my genitalia sells real estate.

Hmm.

On Sunday we drove all the way to the tip of Cape Cod, to a little place called Provincetown. I do believe it is an understatement to say that Provincetown is the gayest little town in America, possibly the world. When we arrived, we ate lunch at a grille which had on the menu a “Borsin Burger.” At least that’s what it sounded like when the guy outside recommended it to us. He said “Borsin” was a kind of cheese. It was in fact a “Boursin” burger, bourcin being a kind of crumbly cheese with herbs in it. It’s actually delcious, and the burger was quite tasty. I don’t really know why I found it so amuzing at the time, but there you have it. After lunch we walked down the main street. If there was any doubt in my mind that Provincetown was indeed very happy, this was squashed. We passed two places of interest that will make the situation very clear to those of you reading. First, we passed a store called “Toys of Eros,” which boasted “more toys than the devil has sinners.” On Main Street. Following this store, we encountered an inn aptly named: “The Prince Albert,” whose motto was not displayed outside, but I imagine being: “Rooms also available, upon request.” Unfortunately I was too much of a chicken to whip out (pun intended) my camera and take a picture of these two establishments. I must disclaim here, of course, that it is a wonderful town, and everyone should go see it not just because of its reputation for being extremely gay friendly, which is fantastic, but also because it just is a lovely little town on the tip of Cape Cod, with beautiful views and great food.

After checking out the town we drove off and went on another hike around the dunes there. Very beautiful.



more on the site, as usual. All in all, as the title says, it was a weekend of true gayity and merriment. I had a blast, and if I weren’t leaving for Japan in four days, I’d do it again in a heartbeat!

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Winnie
    July 29, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    in english its Daikon or chinses radish but i decided to wiki it. The cantonese spelling is lo baak. Your spelling is mandarin so its also corrent 😀 here’s a ref if ur interested

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daikon

    btw love the pics we should do a vacation again … HK? 😛

  2. Winnie
    July 29, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    btw to recap on wat u did the first night after traffic we:

    -unload
    -super market
    -soup with daikon and udon
    -chinese movie

    Second night we:

    -fish market search
    -resturant
    -zooquriam/petting zoo
    -chicken marsala
    -Bollywood
    Zzzzz…

    for ur records 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

