Home > Japan, Pictures > It’s really my place!

It’s really my place!

August 13, 2009

There’s nothing like making your first meal in your own apartment to make you feel like you’re actually living there. I went grocery shopping today for the first time for myself. I won’t get into details about what I bought, but it cost me about $40, and should last me for a week or so. A lot of it was start up costs though, condiments, soy sauce, olive oil, dressing, etc. The next shop should be cheaper. This might seem insignificant to a few of you, but those who have recently moved out on their own for the first time probably share similar sentiments. You can buy as many pieces of furniture as you want, but it’s not really home until you have your first meal, even if it’s something simple like a grilled chicken salad (which was delicious by the way. I found some sesame dressing at the store, which went really well with the chicken and the rest of the things I put in there.)

I’ve been out so often with friends and such the past week, I’ve hardly spent any time in my apartment. The only alone time I’ve gotten so far is at work, haha. It’s Obon season now so most teachers are off on vacation. The people I’ve been hanging out with have been mostly girls, and tonight they are having a “girl’s night.” Though I was invited (…) I thought it in all of our best interest if I did not attend. Besides, I saw it as a great chance to spend some time working on my place. I’ve put everything away, the kitchen is clean, I’ve got a laundry going, and I’m generally enjoying the downtime. This first month is going to be/has been very interesting. I won’t find out until the very end how much I’ll be spending on electricity, gas, and so forth, but once that happens I’ll be able to budget a little better. I figure I probably won’t be spending much more than 100,000 yen a month on rent, utilities and food, which comes out to about $1000. That still leaves me plenty (200,000 yen) to spend on God knows what else. I’d also like to take this opportunity to invite anyone who is interested in flying down to Japan at some point this year. Even if you don’t come visit me let me know and I’ll definitely be able to help you with your itinerary, and whatever else is needed.

That’s it for now, I’m going to finish cleaning up my place.

Categories: Japan, Pictures Tags: ,
  1. Winnie
    August 19, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    dash i would love to visit you! we’ll see how plans work out for the year. Otherwise i would just have to be there in spirit 😀

  2. Winnie
    August 19, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    btw yummy just like the cape’s 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

