Home > Japan, Pictures > An Update!

An Update!

November 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

First off, yes, my layout is different. I have been looking for some time now for a layout that was wide enough to be able to post multiple photos in a row, and this one looks like it may do the trick. However, because I changed layouts I may or may not have lost my custom banner, so please bear with me as I do my best to fix this up. I may go back to my original one, but the width of the posts on this one is much better.

I have not been keeping up with my past posting, which is unfortunate, and I apologize. The reality is that life (as it usually does) has been getting more and more normal as I live here more and more. There are a few things you all can look forward to in the coming weeks. This weekend I will be going to a sports/fun day organized by the JET association in Oita, and I plan on bringing my camera. Then the weekend after that is Natalie’s birthday party and we will be spending it in Beppu. Also, it’s fall in Japan now, and that only means one thing!

紅葉

 

That’s right, it’s time for that! 紅葉(kouyou – Fall colors) is probably the best time in Japan. We have a pretty good foliage season in Massachusetts, especially in the Berkshires, but I don’t think anything compares to what goes on over here. The bright colors are all over the place. I will no doubt be going out and taking pictures of the stuff around me. So fear not, I am here to feed your Japan addiction, even if the fixes are spread out a bit further than they were before.

I am currently in the process of retooling my blog a bit, adding a few things, tightening up a few places, letting some things hang out, all that kind of stuff. I’ll be categorizing my posts better, so if you are just looking for posts with pictures or something like that, you will be able to search by that instead of having to scroll through the admittedly novel-esque blog posts of mine. Or if you just want to read about Elementary schools in Japan, or just about my trips, or just about my random thoughts on linguistics (I don’t know why you would, but I’m all about giving you the choice) you will be able to do so quite easily by checking out the “categories” under the post.

On the photo front, you will have to be content for now with a few pictures from the Halloween party last week, which was a lot of fun. But yes, you are being censored.


My Halloween costume. I wore all seven of my polo shirts, gym shorts, flip flops and a football. Yes, I went as a jackass (or a frat boy.)


This is Georgia. She went as a bear. She was not the only one with a full body costume like that.


Cam went as a ninja. He would not be alone.

ahem…no comment.


Stuart in his mask with no mouth or eye holes…I had to cut one in with his keys.


A few of the best costume contestants


The winner! He won $200


This is entirely unrelated, but apparently in Japan November 1st is as good a day as any to begin your Christmas celebrations.

Until next time!

-Dash

Categories: Japan, Pictures Tags: , , ,
  1. November 11, 2009 at 12:28 am

    =) sounds like you’re having fun

    ❤ the new pictures

    (not much happening here just crazy folk freaking out about stuff: economy, h1n1 etc.)

    Post more 😄 (i'm too poor to take a vacation to japan i'll just have to content myself with leeching off of your experiences xD lol)

    wishing you lots of Hugs and Halloween candy ^_-

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

