Home > Pre-Japan > Snowkatsu

Snowkatsu

I know it is taking me a few days to post things, so these posts may be a bit out of date. Unfortunately due to my internet situation I had a few blog posts piled up which I wanted to post first.

Last week Wednesday it snowed. I’m not sure why I was so surprised by it, but there you have it. It snowed just about all day, these huge snowflakes falling down left and right, covering all of our city in a dusting of cold, white snow. It was actually quite pretty, and I resolved during work that when I got home, I would go out and take some pictures. Following are the results. Since the climate is a bit warmer than what I am used to, there were still oranges (I think they were oranges) on the trees, and flowers in full bloom, making for quite a few nice contrasting photos. I tried to be a little artsy in a few, but I suppose it’s up to you all to decide whether I succeeded in that. Unfortunately because it was still snowing when I went out, a few of my photos have some barely visible, but still rather annoying fuzzy blotches on them thanks to the strategically placed snowflakes that landed on my lens. I didn’t have the resources or the energy to clean them off, so I just hoped for the best. Most of them came out fine. I call this series of photos “Snow in Nakatsu: Where even flowers wear hats.” It’s a working title…

Enjoy!

-Dash

Not sure what it is about snow in Japan that makes it look so pretty. Maybe because the idea of snow on Japanese buildings isn’t something one thinks of very often, so when it does happen it’s extra special.

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Peri
    January 18, 2010 at 11:35 am

    nice pictures! Floridians must be feeling the same way—snow on oranges… Hope it’s fleeting though.

  2. Stu
    January 18, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    The building with the tall steeple looks decidedly un-Japanese. Is it a church?

    Best picture is the close up of the garden-gnome-ish guy with half his face covered in snow. It looks like he just got hammered in a snowball fight.

  3. Dash
    January 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    It’s not a church, though it certainly is built like one. It’s in fact a wedding…umm…place? Basically this is where Japanese people get married. It’s not a church but it’s meant to look like one. Inside are lots of different rooms that are all themed differently so that you can get married in a place that looks like where you want to get married…a chapel, an old roman amphitheatre… (ok i’m not sure if they actually have that or not, but I wouldn’t be surprised…)

  4. Winnie
    January 19, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Love the orange 😀 I notice some snow sticking to something around the orange. Are those spider webs??

    • Dash
      January 19, 2010 at 8:51 am

      yeah, spider webs

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

