Home > Pre-Japan > A long and winding road

A long and winding road

It was such a lovely January day today in Nakatsu, I thought I’d take my bike out for a little spin. I had planned on going about an hour out to the spot along the Nakatsu-Hita cycling road I had been to before. When I hit that spot, though, I was feeling really good, so I decided to go on. I finally stopped when I arrived at Yabakei, at the man made tunnel, made entirely by one sole monk, doing his best to atone for some kind of sin he committed. I am hazy on the details. Of course I had to bike back still, but it was no problem. Grand total: 32km, about an hour and a half of biking, and some fabulous sights!

Here’s a short list of what I saw:

A man peeing on the side of the road
A man walking his cats. Yes, his cats.
Proof that an L.A. Gang has an outpost in Japan

Pollution that never looked so pretty.

All in all, a great day, and I came back refreshed and feeling great! Ready to start a new week.

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Kate
    January 24, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Hey Dash! Sounds like a good bikeride, I’ve been there a few times, it’s a nice route šŸ™‚

    I did 17km on my mama chari today!! I figured out that that’s my round trip distance to taiko haha. I also realised that I can do it on my mamachari!

  2. January 24, 2010 at 7:02 am

    That tunnel in Yabakei – quite amazing. Better than Shaw Shank Redemption (??).

    There is a man near here who used to walk his rabbits. I think they have all died now – or to old to be pulled along on a leash.

    Hope you get some good sleeps in that new bed. Gotta be better than a futon.

    Katy in Kunisaki – who somehow managed to forget to leave post-JET and now has a Japanese husband and three small children.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

