Home > Pre-Japan > “Call me, Snake”

“Call me, Snake”

February 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I think it is high time, dearest of readers, to reveal my newly minted alter ego. I think that instead of rambling on with a long explanation about who and what he is, I’ll just say this, then show the photos. His name is Snake.

Snake came into existence on a shopping trip to the most wonderful little store: Shot: Casual Outlet. While perusing the vast stocks of absurdly lettered long sleeved shirts in the store, Cam spotted this pants and jacket combination in a rack somewhere and beckoned me over. After trying it on I was faced with two choices.

1) Buy it and be happy
2) Leave it and regret the decision for the rest of my life.

The decision was made even easier once I found out the entire ensemble would cost me a mere 3,900 yen, approximately $35. And so, with a quick exchange of the paper we dub currency, Snake was born. He was scheduled to make his first appearance that evening for sushi and bowling.

We met at 7pm at “sushi ichiban,” the local conveyor sushi place, which naturally had its busiest night in recent history. No debut is complete without a sold-out audience, after all. After a mostly uneventful dinner where Aine huffed and puffed about me not knowing the difference between the Italian and Irish flag (one is red, the other orange?!) and detailed discussions on grammar (regardless of dress, we are still English teachers after all…) we moved on to the main event: curling without the brooms (Topical reference! Bam!)

A night out in Nakatsu (or its surrounding areas for that matter) is never complete without being spotted by students, and I was spotted immediately upon entering the establishment as I waited for Cam, Georgia and Aine to get their bowling shoes from the vending machine. I had to ask for my shoes behind the desk because my feet are the size of small elephants in this country. “Dashi-ru sensei…desuka?” I heard as I looked over to see one of my second graders stare back at me. “Are you…Dashiell?” He asked me almost as if he couldn’t believe it was really me underneath my eel skin suit. I said: “Of course!” and shared with him that I bought these clothes that day. “Kashikoi” he responded, slang for “cool” or “awesome.” Indeed, feeling extremely “kashikoi” we made our way to our lane, next to a group of recent high school graduates. Upon seeing me they promptly went nuts and wanted their picture taken with me, to which I naturally agreed.

I forgot to mention that when putting my name down to display on the monitors, I chose the name “snake.” In Japanese it comes out more like: su nay koo, but never the less I was feeling good. High fives abound when my first bowl landed nine pins down and one wobbly, unfortunately a little too steady to tip over. It was a great time out all around, and I enjoyed the power the suit gave me, though I shouldn’t wear it too often as it will go to my head.

Then on Tuesday at school I met up with my second grade friend before class where he said: “Sune-ku o dasanaino?” roughly translatable as: “You’re not letting out the snake?” I might have been more worried had it been a 6th grader asking me this, but the sexual connotations of the question went way over his head. I coolly and regrettably informed him that those were not work clothes, to which he responded: “But they are so cool!” Maybe in the future, kid… maybe in the future.

In a somewhat related note, please enjoy these action shots of us bowling. My scores were nothing much to write home about, proving once and for all that bowling is the world’s greatest equalizer. No matter what you wear, if you suck, you will simply suck.

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Harrie
    February 27, 2010 at 11:31 am

    The rebirth if “Dude” Lebowski-san?

  2. nathan
    March 1, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Love it ‘snake’. Please wear this next time i see you!!!!

  3. mindy
    March 1, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    “kashikoi” XD
    Let out that snake….lmao XD

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

