Home > Pre-Japan > Origami

Origami

I’m going to digress from my Okinawa tales for a moment here, I have simply not had the energy to put it all in writing quite yet. Instead, I’ll share my latest project: Origami.

I was recently invited to join my sixth graders and make paper cranes which they would subsequently bring to Nagasaki for the peace monument there. Each elementary school in Nakatsu does this, and I believe all of the sixth graders are going on school trips to Nagasaki next week in part to drop off the cranes. (There will be thousands, since every student in school made at least two.)

I had learned how to make cranes in my stay at Kansai Gaidai in 2006 but had long since forgotten. It was nice to get back into the fold (HA!) and I enjoyed it immensely. Since as a JET I have copious amounts of free time during the day, I thought I’d get busy and learn how to make things besides cranes! I was toying around the idea of teaching some of my 6th grade classes a few different origami designs, and thought it might be a fun Christmas lesson. Quite far ahead indeed, but it was the first thing I thought of. Here are some of the designs I made today. I’ll continue to add on to my collection and share them here! Enjoy


A reindeer!


This was my first attempt at Santa-san. His face is a bit off because I messed up some of the folds. I’ll continue to perfect this one.


Candy Cane! I know, it’s pretty weak sauce, but I was just testing it out.


Santa hat!

I really enjoy doing this, and hopefully I’ll continue to find new and fun designs to try out!

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Peri Bearman
    May 11, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    completely recognizable!

  2. FOUFOU
    May 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    YOU CONTINUE TO AMAZE US…..WE LOVE YOUR STYLE…..LOVE FOUFOU

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

