Home > Pre-Japan > The beauty of Yamakuni

The beauty of Yamakuni

I’ve posted quite a bit on my adventures cycling around Japan so far, but it’s been mostly about two places. One the epic 300km bike rice from Oita city to Nobeoka in the next prefecture over, Miyazaki, and back. The other being the cycling road from Nakatsu city to Yamakuni and back. Yet each time Kate and I go out biking to Yamakuni we find something new to fawn over. Yamakuni is unmistakably gorgeous!

Kate and I went biking to Yamakuni yet again last weekend, and Kate brought her fancy camera along for the ride. We decided to check out a place I had been told of by my teachers a number of weeks before called…well for the life of me I cannot retain the name of this place. It began with “saru tobi” meaning jumping monkey, and it was an area about 5km off our regular path which was supposed to be extremely beautiful. I won’t bore you with too many words today, and I will let the pictures do the talking. I’ll be sure to update this blog when I figure out what the place was actually called!

-Dash

Aodo-mon, the through way sculpted by one monk, by hand

It was HOT!

We went biking right when the farmers were beginning to plant their rice, so this paddy was flooded in preparation

This is the ice skating rink (now a b-ball court) where we always have lunch in Yamakuni.

Me trying to get into Kate's picture, not realizing that her lens is so absurdly wide I would have been in it even without making that dumb face.

Not quite tall enough...

This is mabayashi ravine. I wouldn't call it a ravine necessarily but there you have it.

Water trickling down rocks.

A little waterfall

Yamakuni continues to surprise us with its beauty

And its insects

Just showing it who's boss. No, of course I didn't kill it.

Gorgeous!

Admiring the view

The fireflies are coming soon! I will have another blog on that after this Saturday!

Mini suspension bridge

Please note how clear that water is

I don't really have to comment on every photo...

Japanese maple tree. Their leaves are so small!

A little shrine with tons of one yen coins on it

This is the face I pulled after Kate informed me I was looking too depressed. I was simply busy taking in the nature.

This tree was confused. Beautiful, but confused. It was May.

A bit bright, on account of how I took it.

I can touch this one!

If you look closely, you can see rocks lying on top of the gate. A few of those are now on the ground, by way of my head.

There was so much water around us we just had to test it out.

Posing for the camera.

Water rushing down the rocks into the river.

I demanded we stop and take a picture of this guy. You will see why in a moment.

Monkey see, Monkey imitate.

Whew! If you’ve made it this far, congratulations! That’s 30 photos right there. Hope you enjoy seeing them as much as we enjoyed taking them!

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Peri Bearman
    June 7, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Wonderful pictures! Not another person out on a weekend—nice to be away from the crowds.

  2. June 8, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    OMG that “Not quite tall enough..” picture was EPIC 😄 lol
    loving the pictures and getting to see japan without the heat lol I also loved the “This tree was confused. Beautiful, but confused. It was May.” picture which is another story itself

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

