Home > Pre-Japan > You can’t call it home if it ain’t cozy

You can’t call it home if it ain’t cozy

In my continuing efforts to turn my apartment into a place where I can do things other than sit in front of my computer, I introduce to you all now the latest addition to Chez Dash.

My yamaha piano!

You may notice I have not exactly bought a chair yet...

Obligatory piano key artsy shot

I have been itching to acquire something of this sort for quite some time now. Each of my schools has a piano but I can’t in good conscience play it during school time since students will be in class and I never know when the music room would be used. On top of that, they are not paying me to play piano all day.

Since moving out here though, it’s been the one thing that I’ve missed the most. It’s not like I was a dedicated piano player when I was at home. I doodled and fiddled a bit, but it was always nice to just be able to sit down and play for a while when I wanted to. When I found a new song I liked I could sit down and (try to) learn it. I couldn’t do that here in Japan until now, and it was a major frustration for me. So fresh off the heels of the purchase of airline tickets in August I followed it up with another large purchase. My bank account is now halved, but I am double as happy. I think that’s a pretty good trade-off!

The piano cost me 37,000 yen, roughly $370 which is quite cheap. It’s not the best quality, but I don’t need it to perform concerts. It’s a yamaha, which means the quality is guaranteed. It’s got sound, which is always good, and the keys feel nice. Not too heavy, not too light. Weighted but not stones. The stand it comes with is a bit unstable, which is unfortunate but fixable, and the pedal is plastic, which is to be expected from a cheap piano like this. All in all it suits my needs perfectly, and if you are lucky I may serenade you all with a song at some point when we happen to be in the same room as a piano. So please look forward to that!

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Rachel
    June 15, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Is that what it’s called, a petal? Cute. Do you have headphones? Your neighbors will love you if you do!

  2. FOUFOU
    June 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    DASHIELL…ALLOW ME TO BE THE PURCHASER OF THE PIAO….YOU CAN BUY THE PROPER BENCH…..I WILL SEND A CHEQUE TO MAL ‘S HOME SO WHEN YOU ARE THERE, YOU CAN USE IT…CALL IT AN ADVANCED BIRTHDAY GIFT….LOVE FOUFOU

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

