Home > Pre-Japan > Korea, the Second

Korea, the Second

Here’s the second part of my visual trip through Seoul, Korea!

We began our Sunday in Korea with breakfast, of course. Our breakfast was sorurantan (at least that’s how it’d be written in Japanese…), quite possibly the blandest food I have ever had in my life. I am quite confident in saying here that this breakfast had three ingredients. 1) Rice. 2) Water. 3) Pork. There was nothing else in there. They gave you this huge tub of salt and a big jug of pepper, and you spiced your meal according to your own tastes. The meal of course came with kimchi on the side. No matter how much salt and pepper I dumped in my breakfast, the taste didn’t change. It filled, disgusted, and fascinated me all at the same time.

After coming out of the restaurant we noticed this large golden pagoda across the street.

Following breakfast we made our way to the Korean National History Museum. It is the second largest history museum in the world, I believe. It received the most visitors of any museum in Asia last year, and the 10th most in the world. It was quite impressive.

Lo and behold, what did we see in the Korean National History Museum? A pagoda just like the one we say outside the restaurant! What a coincidence.

We left the museum and split up. Half our group went shopping (a trend on this weekend…) and half our group went to the aquarium. First though, we took the train to yet another part of downtown Seoul (I think there may be three or four downtown Seoul areas!) and went up to the top of the big golden skyscraper called “63” because of its 63 stories. It’s made with real gold!

Though it was a bit hazy, the view from the top was very nice!

Making our way to the aquarium we came across The Donald’s world! He really is everywhere.

We also came across some unbelievably loud cicadas and an outdoor gym.

Seoul’s subway system is really new, and really nice.

I fell in love with the subway there instantly when I saw this bad boy, a massive snack vending machine.

Having gotten off the train we arrived at yet another part of Seoul’s downtown. We had been on the move for a good 30 minutes by now!

We arrived at the same time as this fascinating conference, apparently.

Entering the building to the aquarium, I noticed this wonderful restaurant representing most of the world’s cultures in one lovely name.

I will let these photos speak for themselves about my time in the aquarium. It was a very interesting one!

I always do love those strange fish names!

After yet another kimchi dinner we headed up to Seoul tower, an impressive landmark reached by cable car.

Can you see it? Amsterdam is about 8,500 kilometers looking straight ahead!

A nice view of Seoul at night.

The love wall, where visitors can buy tiles and write their own messages of love, which then get plastered to the wall for everyone to see.

And so our second and final evening in Seoul came to an end. We headed back to the hotel at midnight to get ready for our 5am wake up call. Our flight left at 8am.

Though the flight to Korea was very comfortable, the flight back was the tightest aircraft I’ve ever been in.

On our way back from the airport we stopped at this bakery to buy some bread and chocolate. The name does not make it sound entirely inviting though! This will only really make sense if you’re Dutch.

There you have it! My whole trip in Korea basically summed up in pictures! I generally don’t take so many photos so I’m not able to do this, but this time because I took out my camera more I was able to really document my trip, which is very exciting. I hope you guys liked my accounts! If I get good feedback I’ll do my best to keep it up.

Tomorrow I will share with you all a few of the little absurdities I found while in Korea, so please look forward to that!

-Dash

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Peri Bearman
    July 29, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Patisserie Mannekenpis! THE secret ingredient. Have to admit…. that is bizarre. Thanks for the armchair tour Dash!

  2. Stu
    July 29, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Consider this positive feedback. Very cool pictures.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

