Home > Pre-Japan > It’s getting colder, so let’s show off our colors, before we fall…

It’s getting colder, so let’s show off our colors, before we fall…

November 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

That’s the translation of a sweet haiku I wrote recently when it began getting colder. In Japanese:

寒くなり                      (samuku nari)

色を見せよう                                       (iro wo miseyou)

落ちるまで                                           (ochiru made)

It’s actually one of the favorite haiku’s I’ve ever written because this time it’s not in jest and actually makes use of seasonal/natural words, a mainstay in proper haiku.

Anyway, as you may have noticed by the title of the post, it’s fall here in Japan! I know, for those of you back on the East Coast of America you may be thinking to yourselves: “Umm, Dash, it was fall here like two months ago…” but here on Kyushu in Japan mid November is fall, and thus the fall colors (もみじ)are out again! To take advantage of this beautiful display I decided to go biking, something I had not done in quite some time since Kate left. Andrei, the new JET from Yamakuni, and Nichole who lives in Mie-machi, quite far away decided to come down and bike, so bike we did!

Andrei and Nichole biked from Yamakuni to Nakatsu and we biked back to Yamakuni together. Then I biked back to Nakatsu. That was the plan anyway! But unfortunately my bike had other ideas. It got a nice flat about halfway into my way back and I had to call Andrei and beg for a ride back. Luckily he obliged, otherwise I might still be stuck out in the cold in Yabakei somewhere…

I did not manage to get a ton of photos as we were too busy biking, but I managed to snap a few on the way back! The colors are gorgeous as usual! Enjoy.

-Dash

So yellow!

This is the same tree! It's amazing what some shadows can do to colors...

The babbling Yamakuni river

Colors moving up the mountain

More of the same

If I had a better camera maybe I could have captured the light from both the fall colors and the moon, but this is still a very nice picture, I think

Categories: Pre-Japan
  1. Harrie
    November 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    It is always a good idea to bring a bike repair set with you on longer bike trips. Especially the ones you can attach to your bike underneath your saddle with a handy strap…

  2. November 16, 2010 at 3:57 am

    haha…

    I had that set with me, but it doesn’t help me if I have no pump, and unfortunately the portable one I have doesn’t fit my gauge anymore…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

